Hemet school’s academic decathlon teams advance to state competition

Photo courtesy of HUSD
West Valley High School’s academic decathlon team.

■ Alex Cass / Contributed

For the past 18 years, a Hemet Unified school has represented Riverside County in the state competition for Academic Decathlon. This year, Hemet Unified will have two schools advancing to the state level.
After the two Saturday competitions, Lake Elsinore High School won the first place trophy at the county level competition. However, due to the high scores of West Valley High School (second place) and Hemet High School (third place) they will also advance to the state competition. The three teams will represent Riverside County in Sacramento on March 23-26.

Photo courtesy of HUSD
Hemet High School’s academic decathlon team.

Lake Elsinore may have won first place in the overall competition, but many accomplishments were made by the Hemet schools. West Valley High School won first place in the Super Quiz, which was the only public part of the competition, and West Valley team member Elisha Dayag was the top individual scorer. In fact, Elisha’s score (9,414.8) is a nationally ranked score, ranking him in the fifth spot for 2017 and sixteenth overall since 1968 when team members were tested individually.
Overall team scores are calculated by taking the top two scores in each category: Honors (GPA 3.75-4.00), Scholastic (GPA 3.00-3.74), and Varsity (0.00-2.99). West Valley’s final score was 46, 209.1 and Hemet High’s was 44, 025.6.
Congratulations to the West Valley and Hemet High School’s Academic Decathlon teams; we wish you the best of luck at the state competition.

West Valley

Timm Hannem
Assistant Coaches:
Deena Long
Michael Martin
Clayton Powell
Tim Shinn
Jessica Sotelo
Billy Valenzuela
Christine Wong Hayes
Cooper Smith
Jaiden Heggins
Douglas Swayne
Christina Muoio
Lauren Trevino
Elisha Dayag
Isabel Michel

Hemet Hight

Rebecca Shawver
Assistant Coach:
Deena Long
Art Plinksi
Dave Powell
Melissa Smith
Pat Smith
Judy McPherson
Hyatt Baker
Kelcey Brown-Meacham
Luis Perez
Jeon Gordon
Gabby Navarro
Ann Eisenbarth
Michael McGivney
Trevan Klug

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *